share the dignity #blogjune

24Jun16

share the dignity has been around for about a year now..I first saw them on facebook I think. I can’t imagine being homeless, much less being homeless and needing a tampon or a toothbrush or something just so everyday and important to my well being. Can you imagine choosing between spending money on food or pads?

so last Christmas I did the #itsinthebag and put together 3 bags of *stuff* – each contained moisturiser,  tampons, face wipes,  shampoo/conditioner,  toothbrush/toothpaste, a cotton knitted washer, a card and more….

bag

It’s easy to add a little into your weekly shop …”oh 2 for 1″ -one for me and one for the stash. So I’m hoping to get a few more bags together this year… and in travelling I take now the little shampoos and conditioners and body wash that are offered in hotels. Every time i get my teeth cleaned I get given a new toothbrush and toothpaste – into the stash. It adds up.

It would be wonderful not to have to do this, but while there are women in need and homeless, and in threat of violence, then it’s a cause I want to support.

Oh and do not get me started on women’s sanitary products being a luxury…please!

2 Responses to “share the dignity #blogjune”

  1. 1 Ruth

    I’m doing this for the first time this year. I love the handwritten note you’ve included so am going to write one to pop in my bag too.

    • 2 strawberriesofintegrity

      Excellent, got to get my skates on and assemble my bags tonight as they are due for collection tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

