More help, this time reading suggestion for my bookgroup plz #blogjune

23Jun14

Been an interesting day.
Gotta say dismayed by the Peter Greste (and the two other journalists) decision.
Miserable weather and I got soaked even on my short ride home this evening.
Some big projects at work. And possibly a decision or proposal about something….
Carl is away interstate for the evening and Jack seems far away (well he is!), and Iz is caught up with the news that the cafe she works in has a new owner…as of tomorrow.
So admit to hiding under a blanket, drinking Bengal Spice tea, knitting a little and thinking of bed.
But….in the interests of an (admittedly pathetic) quick post – I would love suggestions for my book choice for August.
I want either a classic (Russian – I think maybe Chekov?) or an modern Australian novel, so go! Or something else entirely….

Promise to answer all suggestions.

Gotta go now as hope to be up early to watch Socceroos – delayed at 6am. Can’t do 2am. I need to be articulate tomoz.
x

8 Responses to “More help, this time reading suggestion for my bookgroup plz #blogjune”

  1. 1 Sam

    My two favourite books lately in your modern Australian category would be Burial Rites by Hannah Kent (we did that in my book club and had a great discussion) and Evie Wyld’s All the Birds, Singing. Neither are very cheery, it has to be said 🙂

    • 2 strawberriesofintegrity

      thankyou!!! Was thinking of Burial Rites, but hadn’t heard of the other one….now to choose 🙂
      thanks!

  2. 3 Wendy

    something different that I loved… Among Others by Jo Walton

  3. Is it cliched to offer up Tim Winton’s latest, ‘Eyrie’? I started off hating the main character and ended really liking him.

    I note no one has offered up any Russian suggestions, so far.

    • 6 strawberriesofintegrity

      Not cliched at all. We have read, and I enjoyed…
      Think I’ll stick to contemporary Australian, although I like a bit of Russian angst!

  4. 7 suth2

    Frank Moorhouse – Cold Light or Dark Palace.


Leave a Reply

