Should it matter? #blogjune

11Jun14

I happened to see a reply on social media today … something like “…don’t forget that I live with a librarian…”- it was part of a discussion about books & book choices/ideas.

But this person doesn’t…they live with someone who has done some library study at TAFE and works in a library…..but they are not a librarian.

Have had similar conversations over the years especially with family members “…oh such and such is doing so well working as a librarian at the local school…” Yep, such and such is doing a great job, and is very happy [but they are not working as a librarian!] – this bit said under my breath…

Should it matter? Am I being a pedant? A purist?

I am recognised as a librarian by my professional association.

I am employed as a librarian.

So, yes it matters to me.

Me - graduating 2002.

Me – graduating 2002.

And it probably only ever matters to us librarians …
x

10 Responses to “Should it matter? #blogjune”

  1. 1 suth2

    Couldn’t agree with you more. I feel the same as you. I worked hard to get my qualifications.

    • 2 strawberriesofintegrity

      A colleague here said (as an extreme example) – “not everyone who works at the doctors is called a doctor!”

  2. 4 @kalgrl

    ‘everybody is a librarian, if they work in a library’. I get this from academics who should know better. Nevermind the struggle, the study, the $, the graduation, the fight for a position … The others achieve it by being there … I should have tried that .. A whole lot less nightmare. (What me bitter … Nah)

    • 5 strawberriesofintegrity

      lol, never …bitter that is….and academics should know better!! Sheesh!

  3. 6 @kalgrl

    Btw *waves* hello 🙂

    • 7 strawberriesofintegrity

      and *waving* back at you in Kal! 🙂

  4. I’m with ya! My nephew did a Dip Lib last year, and I got quite testy explaining this was a technician qualification, not librarian. I’m sure my family thought I was over the top, but I was trying to explain the he should have done librarianship instead!!!! The tech course is too limiting, job wise and career wise. I think only librarians understand!

    • 9 strawberriesofintegrity

      Yep, def only barbarians understand – barbarians was a bad typo for librarians, but I kinda like it 🙂

  5. 10 @kalgrl

    Having both quals – I agree justgirlwithshoes + there are limited job opportunities outside very large libraries for libtech positions


Leave a Reply

