New phone #blogjune

07Jun14

I need a new phone. I have had my old iPhone for 3 1/2 years which I reckon is pretty good. I did think it was 2 1/2 years but looking at some of the old photos on it and putting the memory pieces together I see that it’s 3 1/2 years at least. It still has an Angry Birds sticky button on the home button that Jo @jobeaz gave me when I saw her in Sydney at least 3 years ago!!! And it’s cracked on the back…

But it’s becoming slow and unresponsive and I want to get a new phone before I get the dreaded black or blank screen and I lose stuff. Another upgrade and I fear that may be so.

And I don’t want an iPhone. I have a work iPad mini so will still be dealing with iTunes, but I want to wrestle my way away from the iPhone for good….And there seem to be a bunch of great Androids out there

so…………….suggestions please? I have had some lovely comments about my call out for Hong Kong ideas, so thought I would be cheeky and crowd source phone options…. πŸ™‚

My specs?

well- a phone and a reasonable camera as I love taking and posting photos. That’s really about it…oh Β and music and podcasts and Skype at a pinch. I feel like being quite minimal with my apps- I have so many on my phone that I never touch! Although I am sure to add apps especially when travelling.

Samsung Galaxy??

Oh, and I don’t want it to be be a big phone…no bigger really than the iPhone I have now.

So, in advance, dear friends…………………………..go!!!!!

 

11 Responses to “New phone #blogjune”

  1. 1 Tania

    I’ve just changed from the Galaxy S3 to the S5. Really like both. S5 has more functionality, bigger screen and lighter. Still easy to hold as not as big as the Note. I use Skype. Lots of inbuilt apps and widgets. Many more available in Play Store but I try to avoid where possible because I don’t want to be playing on my phone all the time. Hope that helps!

    • 2 strawberriesofintegrity

      Thank Tania – thats great πŸ™‚

  2. 3 sam

    Love my Galaxy S3. I raved about it so much my partner and my Mum now also have them!

    • 4 strawberriesofintegrity

      Thanks Sam! Sounds like Galaxy is the go!

  3. 5 Wendy

    I switched from iphones to a Galaxy S4 (i think!) at the end of last year and I really love it. I haven’t used it for Skype though. Only problem is itdoesn’t play easily with all my other mac stuff but I’ve stopped bothering about that now and it’s fine. Like the bigger screen and keyboard too.

    • 6 strawberriesofintegrity

      Interesting! Thanks Wendy. I reckon Galaxy sounds like it’s the go

  4. I love my Galaxy S3. The photos are much better than photos from an iPhone.

    • 8 strawberriesofintegrity

      Thanks Rachel. The photo bit is important. Recently saw a friend take and post a pic through her Galaxy and it was a breeze πŸ™‚

  5. 9 Empty Nester

    This post & comments are perfect! I’ve been thinking my iPhone is on the way out and thinking of leaving apple for an android. Xx

  6. Switched to android a couple of years ago (and had to discard my angry birds sticker from Jo too 😦 ), first outing was a Sony Xperia – not going there again…. however, now have an S4 and love it to bits.


Leave a Reply

