We all go back to where we belong #blogjune

02Jun14

I spent the weekend with a friend in Huskisson. This meant a 2 1/2 hour car drive there and back by myself – which I love! Don’t get me wrong – I love being with my family and friends, but there is nothing like some quiet time in the car, going through some lovely scenery – to make you feel pretty good. And I had music on the way…including this favourite.

I can taste the ocean on your skin
That is where it all began 

I love this song for a whole bunch of reasons. I love the words, the music, the emotion, and for its ‘Burt Bacharachy’ tone.

I decided a while back that I wanted this song played at my funeral. Now that may sound like a strange thing to even contemplate, and I am not in a maudlin mood. I just like the idea of hearing this song on that particular occasion.

So it feels even more right that I find out today that the song is the last single that REM ever released.

“Some songs come easy. Some take a little more work. This one took a lot of work, but I love the result” – notes on this song from REM ‘Part lies, part heart, part truth, part garbage 1982-2011’

“Stipe personally asked Dunst—his neighbor in New York City—to star in the video and did three takes with Dunst; the one that was chosen had him singing the song to her off-camera” – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/We_All_Go_Back_to_Where_We_Belong

 

We all go back to where we belong

I dreamt what you were offering
Imagine lying next to me
Your shirt and your reputation talks
I will write our story in my mind
And write about our dreams and triumphs
This might be my “Innocence Lost”

I can taste the ocean on your skin
That is where it all begins

I dreamt that we were elephants
With water, sun, and clouds of dust
I woke up thinking we were free

I can taste the ocean on your skin
That is where it all begins
We all go back to where we belong
We all go back to where we belong

Is this really what you want?
Is this really what you want?

I can taste the ocean on your skin
That is where it all begins
We all go back to where we belong
We all go back to where we belong

Is this really what you want?
Is this really what you want?

No Responses Yet to “We all go back to where we belong #blogjune”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

