Ah reflection, how I love thee….(module 11)

24Nov13

Timing.

Not sure if the MOOC has triggered some sort of crisis in my own professional practice, or if it was coming anyway? (not looking for blame here…)

I am sure what I need is to articulate my goals, my mission as far as library practice.

I have already moved heavily into MOOC reflection space.

I just loved this lecture – in fact I said that as my status last week:

“Just watched Michael’s mod 11 lecture. This is what we are about. Best lecture ever. So grateful. Right now. Present in this amazing MOOC :) “

I am going to write some of Michael’s points from the lecture here and then comment about my practice and intentions.

What can we do? What can I do?

be transparent: initials on tweets is happening, and I want to ramp up our Twitter profile with pics of the contributors – like Christchurch City Library twitter page. Images on library website? Start with our LibGuides pages.

break down barriers: need to start acting, not just thinking about being more strategic at work. Our library is large and dispersed as is our university. Relationships, collaboration, keep talking in a range of spaces! That takes me out of my comfort zone a little (lot)…but v important. Have had some great wins here recently with organising some training….

not be mean with signage: I don’t get to all campuses libraries that often and this is not my domain, but I can influence others?, continue to point out? do a mini audit, pick key people on campus libraries to be involved in this? My section does look at communication & publicity, so on reflection – this is my area! Just need to tread carefully in this space.

practice radical trust: with users, with colleagues – I can do this. I can be judgmental. I can be quick to criticize. V quick.  But getting better at this, just by taking a deep breathe, putting replies in draft – working through issues and ideas and not being so quick to respond! I have this other issue with being super quick to respond to email, inquiries, issues- sometimes at my own peril.

map your strategy: yes!! And a great time of year to do this..end of year. And I am having a face to face with my team this week, that planning will determine my individual planning. I can do this. I know that by writing things down this commits me to a course of action.

let your core values guide everything that you do: so need to write these down. I never have before. But I will. And it will be up on my whiteboard by 1 December!

stories have power: I know. I love stories. Stories can transform, be so powerful. I intend using stories more in blogging for work, and in social media….

extend the mission: our mission, my mission. Again – my library mission is articulated, but  what is my own personal library mission?

evaluate/measure progress: need to get a bit real on this. My library management talks about acting more as a business, keeping the stats, reporting….and I need to be able to be comfortable in that environment and just..do it !

watch the horizon/trend spotting: part of my job and a part I do enjoy…I am not so good at applying trends or tools/tech to our library, but have a great team who help me with this. Relationships matter. People matter. Keeping up to date matters!

learn always: yes!

be nimble, be quick: have personally struggled with this one this year, as I have fought (often just in my head) with procedures and processes in my library which I think are contrary to this…but lately I have realised that I need to work in with this, rather than just fight against it. Small wins are sometimes all you can get. That’s OK.

have fun: will do! I am a big believer in rewards along the way 🙂

make some mistakes: yes! But no regrets!

look for connections: always, and in unexpected places and spaces….

develop your PLN: Twitter used to be it. Increasingly now I dip in and out – but my PLN has enabled deeper connections….meeting people F2F after connecting through Twitter or FB. And it’s a constant moving swell or stream. And the word ‘develop’ to me means constant shifting, changing, tweaking…a continuum.

involve your users every step of the way: and they are there present in your/their/our journey.

be creative: I am one of those people who thinks I am not incredibly creative, but can see it in others. But I am and that realisation has been slow in coming for me…almost a modesty thing? But I am creative in … my house, gardening, arranging (my office, my house…collections), my photos, my knitting (this is a recent re-acquaintance after many years!)

be human: I cannot add to that. we are.

be kind: yes. kind to others, and importantly kind to ourselves.

take risks: a useful reminder that we don’t have to be our stereotypes!

find balance: I think I get the balance right- although I don’t think it’s always about balance, sometimes there is more emphasis on one thing than another. Shifting.

bring your heart with you: this fills me with joy! I just love how this MOOC has articulated this for me….And how wonderful tat this is IN the syllabus 🙂

let the heart drive change – show kindness: we cannot lose with this overarching mantra!

do a google image search for hyperlib MOOC and what do you get?

heart

Bibliography:

Cheetham, W, & Hoenke, J. (2013, August 19). Making mistakes in our daily work: A TTW conversation between Warren Cheetham and Justin Hoenke [Web log post]. Tame The Web. Retrieved from http://tametheweb.com/2013/08/19/making-mistakes-in-our-daily-work-a-ttw-conversation-between-warren-cheetham-and-justin-hoenke/

Corkindale, G. (2011, April 18). The importance of kindness at work [Web log post]. Harvard Business Review Blog Network. Retrieved from http://blogs.hbr.org/corkindale/2011/04/the_importance_of_kindness_at.html

Henry, A. (2012, February 8). How to promote yourself (without being sleazy) [Web log post]. Lifehacker. Retrieved from http://lifehacker.com/5883298/how-to-promote-yourself-without-being-sleazy

Klerk, J., & Stephens, M. (2010, April 15). Open conversation: Being human [Web log post]. Tame The Web (TTW). Reprint from Digitale Biblioteek. Retrieved from http://tametheweb.com/2010/04/15/open-conversation-being-human/

Stephens, M. (2010). Goals of an LIS educator. Library Journal, 135(19), 32.

Stephens, M. (2010, December 1). Heretical thoughts. Library Journal, 135(20), 72. In Tame The Web (TTW). Retrieved from http://tametheweb.com/2010/12/01/heretical-thoughts-2/

Stephens, M. (2011, February 10). Office hours extra: It’s about people talking to each other [Web log post]. Tame The Web (TTW). Retrieved from http://tametheweb.com/2011/02/10/office-hours-extra-its-about-people-talking-to-each-other/

Stephens, M. (2012, May 15). Professionalism matters. Library Journal, 137(9), 42. In Tame The Web (TTW). Retrieved from http://tametheweb.com/2012/05/15/professionalism-matters/

Stephens, M. (2011, April 25). Office hours extra: Save the day! [Web log post]. Tame The Web (TTW). Retrieved from http://tametheweb.com/2011/04/25/office-hours-extra-save-the-day/

Stephens, M. (2011, April 15). Stuck in the past [Web log post]. Tame The Web (TTW). Retrieved from http://lj.libraryjournal.com/2011/04/opinion/michael-stephens/stuck-in-the-past-office-hours/

Thompson, C. (2012, March 21). Clive Thompson on the power of introversion [Web log post]. Wired Magazine. Retrieved from http://www.wired.com/magazine/2012/03/st_thompson_introvert/

No Responses Yet to “Ah reflection, how I love thee….(module 11)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

