Nightswimming

12Aug13

I heard this song coming back from the markets on Saturday morning. It was early and we were about to go to Bowral for the day to celebrate what would have been Jeremy’s 56th birthday.

I love REM. I don’t listen to them much these days, and hadn’t heard this song for a long, long time.

What a lovely song. The circular, melodious piano is just brilliant, and has been on my mind for days now (as songs, do and especially REM songs?)

Got me thinking about a lot of things. Ironic that my last post implies that I just have no problem being the age I am…and then now after a weekend of a Bunker family lunch on Saturday, and then a Davies family lunch on Sunday – my thoughts do go to ageing, celebrations, family, life, and (at the risk of sounding like something out of Lion KIng) the great circle of life. I guess it’s all part of being around people who I know and love, and have held as babies – babies who are now adults and going along in the world with such hope and promise. It’s not so much a sad feeling, but more a determination, to make the most out of life. Life is simply too short. Life must be lived. And loved. Enjoyed. Breathed.

So thanks Michael. Thanks REM.

And thanks to my lovely familes and friends (got home from the gym this morning to a card and voucher from my two oldest friends asking me to use the voucher to buy a magnolia as a memorial to Jem)

x

One Response to “Nightswimming”

  1. Just gorgeous. I hope you had a happy day for J’s birthday my friend xx


Leave a Reply

