Sojourn

01Jun13

A quick post for the first of my #blogjune.
Last night Carl and I drove down/up to Huskisson to cat-sit for the weekend.
We left after dark after a super busy week and saw four (Carl saw five) live wombats along the way. I have to emphasize live as it’s often that you see wombats as roadkill. One wombat crossed the road in front of us, head down, but in no particular hurry until he (I don’t know why, but wombats always seem to be male for me) almost got to the other side, when he picked up speed and scurried into the undergrowth. The other wombats were standing on the side of the road. Just amazing.
Today we slept in (almost impossible for Carl) and then we breakfasted out and wandered to the Husky markets. Got home and had a sleep and then a walk under a heavy grey sky, getting home in the dark. We have just had the best grilled fish, chips and salad. Early I know but we missed lunch.
Now to have a beer and watch season 2 of Boardwalk Empire.
A lovely sojourn.

Oh, and the cat, Zam, is just fine. Sulking a little because we are here, but eating and sleeping quite comfortably!

5 Responses to “Sojourn”

  1. oh wow, so many wombats! i think they’re definitely my favourite australian animal.

    • 2 strawberriesofintegrity

      and they are quite tall and statuesque when they are standing up!

  2. 3 Renee

    I wish we had wombats in W.A…

    • 4 strawberriesofintegrity

      I didn’t realise that you didn’t! But then, I think the ones we see are Eastern hairy-nosed wombats, so that makes sense.

  3. Lucky you and Carl, I have only seen kangaroos, foxes and rabbits while driving


Leave a Reply

