How now…

09Apr13

Getting anxious not blogging – that’s weird isn’t it?

Have had a few unhappy weeks at work – just not sure where I am going and the future and whether I should even stay in librarianship? But then reality sets in and I realise that whatever I want to do – I have to think about it a bit more carefully and plan a bit. Being 51 is also a factor. I haven’t been for a job interview in quite a number of years – eight? And years working in the Commonwealth Employment Service (CES) as an employment person – I have some idea what I am talking about.

Not at all sure if I want to stay in academic libraries, have always said I don’t want to work in a public service library, so not sure what else there is.

It’s funny when you are not happy that your mind goes everywhere…I had a lovely time down at Broulee on the weekend and fantasised as I came home on the bus that Carl got a redundancy and we moved down the coast and I continued working 3-4 days a week in Canberra, rented a room with friends and got to coach on down to the coast for a long weekend every weekend….

I love the place at work at – the university, just not where my job and the part of the organisation is going….but I can’t say a whole lot more, even in a personal blog as I got outed about a comment I made last year – comment here….. (see I am doing it again).

So, in the meantime I am enjoying….

  • the garden, want to plant that garlic and get some winter veg in
  • taking photos
  • embarking on something crafty (really me?) for the birth of a baby in May…
  • planning twelve weeks overseas next year
  • cooking! I love cooking!
  • music, podcasts, reading
  • mini breaks
  • getting my cholesterol down from 6. Not life threatening, more annoying

…sort of the usual, but with more mindfulness and appreciation of all the beauty in my life. For there is beauty. I know that. I don’t want to live in the future, I don’t want to dwell on the past. I need to be more mindful in the present.



8 Responses to “How now…”

  1. when work gets me down, i think about my plants. that always makes me happier. i love my library – though i find some things deeply frustrating, and i don’t know where else i could go, or what i could do. winter veg make everything a bit better!

    • 2 strawberriesofintegrity

      thankyou – lovely words. Got the garlic this morning!

  2. le sigh…. On a number of levels, I’m hearing you 🙂

  3. 5 Penny

    special libraries? But.. yeah. “Stuff” happening here too.

    • 6 strawberriesofintegrity

      yes! Limited employment opps – but I’m looking (kind of)

  4. 7 bookgrrl

    The grass always seems greener on the other side. I look at peeps in academic libraries and think how I’d love to be there- you guys seem to have the coolest conferences in places like Hobart! But as Penny says, stuff happens everywhere, it’s happening where I am at the moment. You’re taking the right approach and living in the wonderful moments you have. Lovely to read you again x


Leave a comment