What kind of book reader are you?

31Oct12

Love this – From the Atlantic, ‘What kind of book reader are you – a diagnostics guide’. There is the one list – you have to read it all, and then an update – because of course there are stacks of different readers…..again- read it all….

Well as usual – I confess to being a mix 🙂

I’m a bit of a ‘book buster’ – well a well-worn book is clearly a great book, a favourite (although my mum keeps her books in pristine condition, so I hardly ever borrow from her). I especially love the books that come back from two week’s camping at the beach – they are chock full of sun and sand!

I am also a bit of a ‘delayed onset reader #1’ – I seem to buy a bunch of books – usually based on reviews, blog posts, other reading – and then not get around to reading them…well not yet. Piles on the bookshelf. Piles next to my bed. I have a pretty large wish list on Book Depository – and buy a few every so often. I also have fave authors – and want copies of all of their books, to keep!  – like Tim Winton, Rohinton Mistry, Annie Proulx to name a few.

I am a bit of a ‘multi tasker’ or a ‘promiscuous reader’ as I am guilty of dipping in and out of books – but I don’t think that’s a bad thing anyway? And it’s not that I confuse characters or plots – I just forget stuff!!

I am definite a ‘sleepy bedtime’ reader. There are hundreds of times when I have fallen asleep reading…just hundreds!  And Carl generally witnesses my shame…I used to read all night (a very long time ago)

And finally – I like the idea of a ‘it’s complicated‘ reader – a bit of everything really…”You are a combination of many of these things and yet completely different, too. Each book means a new type of reader exists in your soul; you refuse to be defined or categorized. You are a freeform, wild, woolly entity. You do whatever you want. You’re probably a pisces. You’re definitely a reader”.

But you know I’m not a Pisces!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/katiett/5477653199/sizes/m/in/photostream/

2 Responses to “What kind of book reader are you?”

  1. 1 Patrice

    Sounds like me, and I am a Pisces 😉 and we have the same mug..but mine has the “The Great Gatsby” on it 😉 I read 6-8 books at the time and I am NOTORIOUS for falling asleep whilst reading at night and end up with book on face or on the floor.. he he..

    • 2 strawberriesofintegrity

      yes to the falling asleep. 6-8 books at a time- that’s heaps 😉


Leave a Reply

