50 coolest books ever!

07Apr12

Yep – another list, and one I have to say – I quite liked looking at this – only because the book covers looked cool too – and you know I like a list!! This one from Rachael…

50 coolest books ever….

well have I read any of them, and why are they cool?? And who is shortlist.com to say what’s cool?

Anyway…which have I read?

On the road – Jack Kerouac. Well that should be on the cool. I read in my late teens/early 20s. Not sure if I still have a copy. It’s a cool one, a cool road read.

Everything is illuminated – Jonathan Safran Foer. Famously this was my bookgroup book choice a couple of years back. I didn’t even open it. I admit that the last few years have been a bit of a fog at times. I love JSF’s Extremely loud and incredibly close (altho I can’t face watching the movie adaptation just yet…I really don’t warm to Sandra Bullock or Tom Hanks – that is perhaps putting it very mildly). I certainly think that JSF has the coolest names for his novels, and I will read Everything is illuminated. Soon!

Perfume – Patrick Suskind. A great book, I was quite surprised by it. Is it cool? Well I think yes, as there is nothing quite like it. The movie is plain weird, not sure if I would call the movie cool….

Ninety eighty-four – George Orwell. Well a cool classic. Fantastic premise. Brilliant book.

The great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald. Again a bit of a cool classic? I have only recently read this, and I really enjoyed it. One of those books that reads quite differently (I think) depending on your age and personal circumstance (because we all bring so much to a book…)

In cold blood – Truman Capote. A great novel. It should be in the top 50 cool, because it should be in a top 50. Full stop.

Middlesex – Geoffrey Eugenides. I love GE. I love his writing. All of it. He is cool to me, for me.

The fountainhead – Ayn Rand. Read most/all of it in my early 20s. It didn’t leave an impression apart from it got tedious. Not sure if I should ever give it another go. Didn’t get to Atlas shrugged (also on this cool list).

Trainspotting – Irvine Welsh. Is it wrong to like this kinda stuff? No. A romp into another world….(being a bit frivolous here…) but captures seedy, drug world so very well. Edinburgh in the 1980s. Decay.

Have I read?

I haven’t read Generation X, but I have read other Douglas Coupland. He is good. Current. You do laugh out loud, and that can be a good thing. Well observed too. Cool? Probably not in my top cool list (which I should get together some day). Me and lists. I like, no love a good list, but worry when I compile lists that I will miss something out, and how would that be?

Haven’t read the HUnter S Thompson listed (Fear and loathing…) but have read some of his shorter pieces.

The sun also rises – Ernest Hemingway. I *think* I have read this..the blurb sounds familiar.

On my list TO read…

A heartbreaking work of staggering genius – Dave Eggers. Again the title gets me. It is on the top of my ‘to read’ list.

The corrections – Jonathan Franzen. I haven’t read any JF but I have this in my bookshelf.

The secret history – Donna Tartt. I have this book. Got it cheap years back. Haven’t felt the need to read this yet?

This list? Very US centric. Very boy centric.

Part of our bookshelf in the front room

5 Responses to “50 coolest books ever!”

  1. 1 bookgrrl

    I looked at the complete list and it is very US-centric and quite contemporary. Where’s Catcher in the Rye and To kill a mockingbird? Or are they regarded more as classic or cool? I can definitely recommend The Secret History though! I love your bookshelves 🙂

  2. I’ve read a lot of these, but not all so I’m going to have to add a few to my “to-read” list. Can’t wait.

    I guess I’ll start with The Secret History since you and the comment above seemed to like it. But, yea – where’s Catcher in the Rye – so cool.

  3. Forget the books – I’m focussed on your gorgeous bookshelves. I’d have to spend a few hours tidying ours before I could publish photos of them! Lovely 🙂

    • 5 strawberriesofintegrity

      ha ha. just looked at the photo- 17th birthday cards on it, so taken almost 2 years ago- when bookshelves were just new. Should take a photo now- they are more *used*…..


Leave a Reply

