Listening to…

30Dec11

I am an uncomfortable sleeper at times. I generally have no problems getting to sleep, but I do wake in the night and just lie…so for the last few years I have put my headphones in (generally one side only as I sleep on my side)..and listen in…

For quite a few years I listened to BBC world wide radio. Whatever was on was interesting, documentaries and lots of football. I don’t often listen to cricket on the radio but I have been known to (and I think of my dad!!).

These days I rarely listen to the radio. I listen to podcasts.
What sorts?
Well these are my current subscriptions: lots of ABC and BBC stuff. There must be more good stuff….any suggestions? Alpha order from my phone.

  • All in the mind -ABC (and really happy that Natasha Mitchell is going to
  • Life Matters in 2012, although I’ll miss Richard A.)
  • Arts and Ideas -BBC radio 3
  • Background Briefing -ABC
  • Big Ideas -ABC
  • Book Show – ABC
  • By Design -ABC
  • Comedy of the week -BBC
  • Desert Island Discs -BBC Radio 4. Selected! Recently I have loved Martin Sheen, John Peel, Deborah Harry,
  • Documentaries -BBC
  • Family -ABC radio
  • Film Program -BBC. Like this as well as Oz Movie Show
  • Friday night comedy -BBC I do like the news quiz although it’s UK centric and I don’t always get the jokes
  • Graham Norton -haven’t really listened to many of these. I love the TV show, this appears to be a medley of his radio show. Again very UK centric.
  • Health -ABC
  • Health Report -ABC
  • Late night live-ABC
  • Life Matters -ABC
  • Morning interview with Margaret Throsby – ABc classic FM. Selected interviewees
  • Movie Time -ABC Julie Rigg
  • Play of the week -BBC
  • Saturday Extra- ABC although I used to always listen to this live on Sat mornings, not so much these days
  • Slow TV – from The Monthly (I think?)
  • This American Life -one of my favorites!! So many great episodes here. Loved Act V from July this year, but they are usually great!
  • Wellness Guys -Australian. A recent addition, but enjoy this…

So lots of Australian content, lots of current affairs and lots of lifestyle, family and health programs.

## 7 Jan update. Since I wrote this I started thinking about library type podcasts I could/should be listening to….I read a great post by Polly (@pollyalida), and have also subscribed to:

  • Adventures in library instruciton
  • Bibliotech
  • Circulating ideas
  • T is for training
  • Tech chick tips

and a couple of non-library:

  • Food programme – BBC
  • Guardian books
  • NPR- Wait, wait don’t ell me
  • Triple J movies

I jokingly say that I sometimes wish that I had some kind of commute so I could is listen to these podcasts more. Of course listening in the middle of the night often means I don’t hear a whole program.
If I lived alone I would listen to the radio a lot more…I find it difficult to listen to spoken radio programs when there are people around.

Anyway…a record, just now of what I’m listening to…..will be going camping in a few weeks and hope to get some more listening in then (I sleep pretty badly when camping!!)

And I have learnt to relax a bit more about it all. I have 100s to listen to and it’s great having choice and all of these wonderful podcasts to listen to, to learn and to be inspired.

Listening to…

30Dec11

I am an uncomfortable sleeper at times. I generally have no problems getting to sleep, but I do wake in the night and just lie…so for the last few years I have put my headphones in (generally one side only as I sleep on my side)..and listen in…

For quite a few years I listened to BBC world wide radio. Whatever was on was interesting, documentaries and lots of football. I don’t often listen to cricket on the radio but I have been known to (and I think of my dad!!).

These days I rarely listen to the radio. I listen to podcasts.
What sorts?
Well these are my current subscriptions: lots of ABC and BBC stuff. There must be more good stuff….any suggestions? Alpha order from my phone.

  • All in the mind -ABC (and really happy that Natasha Mitchell is going to
  • Life Matters in 2012, although I’ll miss Richard A.)
  • Arts and Ideas -BBC radio 3
  • Background Briefing -ABC
  • Big Ideas -ABC
  • Book Show – ABC
  • By Design -ABC
  • Comedy of the week -BBC
  • Desert Island Discs -BBC Radio 4. Selected! Recently I have loved Martin Sheen, John Peel, Deborah Harry,
  • Documentaries -BBC
  • Family -ABC radio
  • Film Program -BBC. Like this as well as Oz Movie Show
  • Friday night comedy -BBC I do like the news quiz although it’s UK centric and I don’t always get the jokes
  • Graham Norton -haven’t really listened to many of these. I love the TV show, this appears to be a medley of his radio show. Again very UK centric.
  • Health -ABC
  • Health Report -ABC
  • Late night live-ABC
  • Life Matters -ABC
  • Morning interview with Margaret Throsby – ABc classic FM. Selected interviewees
  • Movie Time -ABC Julie Rigg
  • Play of the week -BBC
  • Saturday Extra- ABC although I used to always listen to this live on Sat mornings, not so much these days
  • Slow TV – from The Monthly (I think?)
  • This American Life -one of my favorites!! So many great episodes here. Loved Act V from July this year, but they are usually great!
  • Wellness Guys -Australian. A recent addition, but enjoy this…

So lots of Australian content, lots of current affairs and lots of lifestyle, family and health programs.

## 7 Jan update. Since I wrote this I started thinking about library type podcasts I could/should be listening to….I read a great post by Polly (@pollyalida), and have also subscribed to:

  • Adventures in library instruciton
  • Bibliotech
  • Circulating ideas
  • T is for training
  • Tech chick tips

and a couple of non-library:

  • Food programme – BBC
  • Guardian books
  • NPR- Wait, wait don’t ell me
  • Triple J movies

I jokingly say that I sometimes wish that I had some kind of commute so I could is listen to these podcasts more. Of course listening in the middle of the night often means I don’t hear a whole program.
If I lived alone I would listen to the radio a lot more…I find it difficult to listen to spoken radio programs when there are people around.

Anyway…a record, just now of what I’m listening to…..will be going camping in a few weeks and hope to get some more listening in then (I sleep pretty badly when camping!!)

And I have learnt to relax a bit more about it all. I have 100s to listen to and it’s great having choice and all of these wonderful podcasts to listen to, to learn and to be inspired.



No Responses Yet to “Listening to…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

