Cloaked in

09Mar11

Another interesting day.

Appointment with the neurologist. Jem came out saying that the neurologist said ‘one, maybe two years’.
I had tears in my eyes as I gave him a big hug. He had a big smile on his face and he did say – not a guarantee Kate…
It’s all of course completely dependent on so many things. Who knows how his body will manifest more disease?
There will be more scans of course, and possibly more operations and it sounds like it’s all dependent on pain and how that is managed.
And of course it’s quality of life, but at present it’s an almost joyous existence, or that’s how it seems.

It still takes 20 minutes for him to get up the stairs to his flat, he still needs a wheelchair, he still can’t drive, but I just cannot stop smiling as I type this.
Tomorrow the palliative care team come to the flat to talk through it all with Jem and Max. I won’t stay around for that visit, the words palliative care freak me out a little I know.
I looked up the words – palliative means ‘cloak’ which is such a lovely picture. It almost seems to mean I will cloak and surround you (and your family) with care and love and strategies to help, and medication and ……..

What does freak me is that the word palliative means an acknowledgement that there is no cure, you are not going to get better. That is sad, so incredibly sad.
I am so proud of Jeremy. He is such a lovely man. So kind, so gentle, so still bloody concerned for others, which is just amazing given the circumstances. This could be a time for introversion, but he is so outward looking and open. I am not saying this journey will be easy, but his courage is immense.
It really is almost one day at a time, and at the moment -a time to rejoice and be glad.

And in even more news. The feral, feral paperwork is under control, well for the present.
x

2 Responses to “Cloaked in”

  1. 1 Penny

    Oh that is good news, tinged somewhat with the hardness of reality, but still, good news. {hugs} to you all.

  2. What a beautiful post, tears in my eyes as I send you warm hugs too x


Leave a Reply

