Not with a bang, but a whimper*

30Jun10

I’d like to be finishing #blogeverydayinjune with a bit of a bang, a well considered, erudite post on…I dunno…something, but it’s not to be today…anyway…

[* T S Eliot The Hollow Men

This is the way the world ends
This is the way the world ends
This is the way the world ends
Not with a bang but a whimper ]

I have a head cold, nothing tragic, but it’s made me sooooo stare-bare, mouth-open, on-another-planet person today.

I was going to blog on being an online introvert or one of the other many draft posts I have just out there at the moment.

I have 13 posts in draft at the moment (including this one).

Other drafts are:

  • how I became a librarian
  • ever increasing/decreasing circles
  • running out of puff
  • if you had to pick one?
  • if it was my home
  • what makes me happy
  • ho hum
  • rocking good dinner
  • the hippy wall
  • etiquette
  • she is ‘The Strokes’, he is all over the place
  • authentic happiness?

These are drafts where I have (at least) jotted down some thoughts..ideas. I have deleted the other drafts that were just subjects!

I have enjoyed the #blogeverymonthinjune challenge/project. I have loved reading other people’s blogs but have just not had enough time to do both reading and writing.  I can’t say that I have written anything that I would not have written. I write a lot of personal, home stuff, because that IS where my head is at. Why not so much of the librarian part? – Not sure. Perhaps a lack of confidence or something worthwhile to say? Haven’t got a library voice? I do gain so much from others though and much to think about.

@neerav tweeted today – Busyness is overrated. Slow creates open space for reflection which leads to focus. Focus leads to big things

I’ve been busier this month with blogging, but haven’t really had that reflective time, which I have missed. So I will continue blogging – not at the same pace – and hopefully my posts will be a little more meaningful and reflective.

And my blogging is not ending…was just being overly dramatic with the blog title.

I’ll finish with ‘Another girl, another planet’ (I always thought the song was about heroin/drugs, so just with replace cold/flu tablets instead OK?…). I like this clip

but this audio is better

Kx

8 Responses to “Not with a bang, but a whimper*”

  1. 1 Sally

    I hope you feel better soon!

    I have about 20 posts in my drafts folder – all waiting for a day that I have enough energy and brain power to finish them 🙂

    • 2 strawberriesofintegrity

      getting better slowly. I so hate a lingering cold *cold*

  2. 3 Penny

    I think my library voice is rather quiet too. I gain a lot from reading and listening to others.

    • 4 strawberriesofintegrity

      me too- and I think that’s partly my personality

  3. 5 patrice

    Somethng about that song makes me think: 1980, a seedy nightclub called “tricks” and Amyl Nitrate of all things..but thats another world, another planet…

    keep warm and get better-and hopefully you can stay in bed and people will pamper you 🙂

    Px

    • 6 strawberriesofintegrity

      oh Tricks! yes indeedy..that was another world

  4. 7 snail

    I’m not looking for a library voice, only mine, and that may well be suitable to libraries on occasion. I think it’s best to look beyond, now if I could just work out how to look beyond myself and into libraries in the first place…hmmmpf 🙂 I think I have half of your drafts in my folder too.

    • 8 strawberriesofintegrity

      thanks snail. I think I know what you mean….


Leave a Reply

