Saturday’s child

19Jun10

Saturdays are special days for me. Both my children were born on Saturdays.

Mondays child is fair of face,
Tuesdays child is full of grace,
Wednesdays child is full of woe,
Thursdays child has far to go,
Fridays child is loving and giving,
Saturdays child works hard for his living,
And the child that is born on the Sabbath day
Is bonny and blithe, and good and gay

We’ll see! I never thought that saying was very fair at all…

Wikipedia’s take on Monday’s Child is here.

I have a letter that my sister-in-law sent me after the birth of my first child and I found it again today. In it she says – I will learn more about myself than I could possibly imagine…and that is very true for me.

Anyway- Saturdays often make me think of my children.

Kx

6 Responses to “Saturday’s child”

  1. Haha I hated that rhyme when I was a kid – I was born on a Wednesday and my sister was born on a Sunday. Kinda reinforced the older-sister-gets-everything thing.

    My gorgeous niece was born on a Saturday though 🙂

  2. 2 apubliclibrarian

    I’ve always liked that rhyme, but maybe I would feel different if I was born on a wednesday, my 3 were born on a sun, thurs & fri.

  3. 3 Penny

    Heh – mine were born on a Wednesday and a Sunday.

  4. 4 patrice

    My first was “Monday’s child” and my second “Tuesdays child”, which kind of suit them..

    I agree that you learn more about yourself when you have Children, but i learnt two different things from each of them, but it changed as they, and I, got older.

    I learnt with my first child, my “Mondays child”, that I was too young to have a child, and you need support networks, which i did not have..In saying that we are very close now and that was then and this is now, though because the gap is closer in age, we are more like brother and sister or friends..and my son has got embarrassed in the past when People have thought I was his lady friend, which is funny, but nonetheless creepy for both of us..

    My second child I was older and I learnt I had this ever-flowing amount of love and almost like a primitive protectiveness toward him. At his little school that he went to, the teachers jovially referred to me as “the lioness”! Unfortunately, my closeness and protectiveness toward him made it very hard to cope with the fact of his moving on and moving out when he got older, though, I am proud of his independence, but it was like a feeling of “grief” the first year, even though we were in contact reguarly.
    They call it “empty nest syndrome” and it hit me like a hammer! Time heals all things though, and am at peace with it now, which is great, a year ago I was inconsolable…

    We have a great relationship still and he is coming to stay next week on “Tuesday”..My Tuesdays child..

    Patrice x

    • 5 strawberriesofintegrity

      that’s beautiful Patrice. I don’t know anything about what it was like with your 2nd, but I agree with your comment (as an observer) for first child. We didn’t provide any support to you either…we were silly kids weren’t we?
      At present I think we are living in a four adult household- kids are so grown up. I know I will miss them when they eventually leave …

  5. 6 patrice

    we were all too young at the time, and i had no idea what i was doing, and it was up to me to be a good parent, not my friends 🙂 I just wanted to have fun all the time..I didn’t feel like a parent..I don’t know why….silly thing i was.:)

    Sounds fun living in a four adult household 🙂 This house is like a ghost house!

    Pxx


Leave a Reply

