Tv meme

09Jun10

From Mal

Do you snack while watching TV?

Yeah, sometimes, can’t I? I’ve even had dinner in front of the TV before…

 What is your favourite TV show?

West Wing, Skins, Shameless, Iron Chef, Oz, Big Love, Mad Men, Friday Night Lights, Doc Martin, Hamish MacBeth, Man vs Wild, Grand Designs, recently rewatched Brideshead Revisited and had forgotten how wonderful it was. BBC period dramas or classics. A good doco. Movies sometimes. Almost any cooking show.

 What TV show makes you run to change channels?

Today Tonight? Current Affair? Almost everything else. I try to be as selective as possible. I don’t have it on for company.

How do you view your TV guide: online, on-screen, newspaper, magazine, other?

Used to get the SMH guide on Mondays, but most often just online or the guide on the tele itself.

Have you ever been surveyed for your TV-viewing habits or do you know anyone who has been?

Only ever done the Nielson radio guide – twice in a couple of years- and all that shows is I have periods of insomnia and listen to BBC at odd times & a little bit of JJJ/Radio National. My husband is hanging out to be TV surveyed…I don’t know why.

Do you watch TV news and/or current affairs regularly?

Nope – used to always watch ABC TV or SBS news, not now, usually having dinner or cooking. Very occasionally watch 7.30Report, Q&A, Insight, Four Corners, Foreign Correspondent. Get news online.

Do you watch any TV “soaps”? (Truth please, even if it is embarrassing.)

Big Love, MadMen, Shameless – are they soaps?

What other series shows do you try not to miss?

All the ones I listed in my favourites. I generally set up to record as I prefer to skip through ads.

Any previous series or shows you really liked?

See my favourites

Do you have pay TV or are the digital channels enough?

Digital. I am opposed to Pay TV.

Do you only watch certain TV shows online?

Nope

Do you regularly use services like ABC catch-up or other online replays?

Sometimes iView

Do you ever pay any attention to the adverts?

Not much. Even last night- I muted them. They yell at me.

Do you multi-task while watching TV & if so what else are you doing?

All the time, anything. Well almost anything – I don’t tend to read when watching tele. I do watch RAGE or Video hits if ironing.

Is there a TV show that makes you laugh out loud?

At the moment- Graham Norton Show makes me laugh

Have you ever said no to a social invitation to stay at home and watch TV? (Truth again please.) Mind telling us what the show was?

I don’t think so- I would just record it I think.

Do you record TV shows & if so why and how (VCR, DVD recorder, TIVO, laptop, etc.)?

hard drive/DVD recorder

Least favourite TV personality/actor/character?

*TV personality* pretty well sums up a bad bunch, or when sports people retire and come back with a TV show….urgh

Most popular TV personalities/actors/character?

all the Play School mob from 10-15 years ago!

Have you ever seen anything really memorable on TV (not news/events – made for TV drama, etc.)?

Was breastfeeding my daughter and watching TV when the first news about Lady Diana came across the bottom of the screen – early news was that she might have broken her arm.  I watched man landing on the moon – special school occasion.

Do you prefer TV series or stand-alone shows?

I always maintain I prefer stand alone as I don’t like being tied down…having said that- all my favourites are TV series. I do like a good doco- often stand-alone.

Is there a specific show you find yourself recommending over and over?

at the moment – Mad Men and Big Love – hanging out for the next series of both.

One Response to “Tv meme”


  1. 1 snapshot of day nine | Libraries Interact

Leave a Reply

