Oh the places I’ve been

06Jun10

today that is….

Sweden first off – foggy morning so I lay in bed and read the first 60 pages of the third book in the Millenium series ‘The girl who kicked the hornet’s nest’. Cool morning, fog and Sweden.

Gungahlin – to the hardware shop for bits and pieces for the grey water  and then to Mitchell and we got a trailer load of ‘Bungendore Gold’ gravel for a path in the front yard.

Home to Ainslie to unload the trailer. We were going to do it later because we hadn’t quite finished digging the path, but I needed the car and we couldn’t get to it until the trailer has been unloaded!

A quick late launch and I’m in Houston and China and Melbourne as I finish reading ‘Mao’s Last Dancer’.

Then it’s over to New York and Abu Dhabi, because yep I went and saw ‘Sex and the City 2’. I confess I didn’t want to go, but went with a girlfriend. Perfect fluff and no shovelling gravel. I didn’t envy the lifestyles, the excess and I squirmed in places, but I laughed too. I don’t think it took itself too seriously (well I hope not!). I haven’t seen the first movie or the TV series (and probably won’t!).

Home now…and another later dinner. There is a belated pear and chocolate upside-down cake in the oven for J’s 17th birthday from last week and a chicken and vegie soup made from scratch (and a lovely  free range chook from the markets – thanks Melinda’s Chickens, Mullengandra). We haven’t eaten yet (8.00pm) as the boys are out driving friends home.

Oh- and a lovely song I heard while waiting at the pics – Nick Drake ‘One of these things first’:

I could have been a sailor, could have been a cook
A real live lover, could have been a book.
I could have been a signpost, could have been a clock
As simple as a kettle, steady as a rock.
I could be
Here and now
I would be, I should be
But how?
I could have been
One of these things first
I could have been
One of these things first.

I could have been your pillar, could have been your door
I could have stayed beside you, could have stayed for more.
Could have been your statue, could have been your friend,
A whole long lifetime could have been the end.
I could be yours so true
I would be, I should be through and through
I could have been
One of these things first
I could have been
One of these things first.

I could have been a whistle, could have been a flute
A real live giver, could have been a boot.
I could have been a signpost, could have been a clock
As simple as a kettle, steady as a rock.
I could be even here
I would be, I should be so near
I could have been
One of these things first
I could have been
One of these things first.

9 Responses to “Oh the places I’ve been”

  1. 1 haikugirloz

    I love that Nick Drake song sad his life was so short….

  2. 2 Sally

    Ainslie is a lovely suburb of Canberra. 🙂 I used to live “next door” in Campbell, and I often think of that part of town with fond memories.

  3. 3 apubliclibrarian

    Oh reading those lyrics made me feel sad, i haven’t heard the song – so I will now youtube it..to listen and hear if it is sad.
    have a great week..keep on bloggin:)

  4. 4 strawberriesofintegrity

    I knew Nick Drake died young, but had never found out why – overdose of antidepressants at 26. He has some lovely songs. According to Wikipedia there is no footage of him as an adult apart from stills. His family lived very close to where my parents lived as children in England. Lovely voice, musician.

  5. 5 Penny

    Lots of places you’ve been 🙂

  6. 6 Kerryn

    Wonderful post. I’m going through a ‘reading about India’ phase – again. Each night I escape into a world of heat, glorious mountains, spices, traffic sounds, food and music, I want to go back.

  7. 7 nomesd

    That’s one of my favourite songs. I listened to it on repeat lying on a hillside in Verona.

  8. 8 strawberriesofintegrity

    ah Verona! Spent some lovely times there (in ’85!), and Kerry I would love another India trip.


  1. 1 And on the sixth day… | Libraries Interact

Leave a Reply

