Wayfarer

04Jun10

This afternoon I’m going to a funeral. My niece’s partner. Barry was 43. I’m not looking forward to it.

I’ll wear sunglasses. Not my Wayfarers tho.

Wayfarer – a person going on a journey.

On other, more logical and less sad days I could even sit down and plan my own funeral – work out some music, pick some words, the setting, some flowers perhaps.

Sorry- there will be sad days.

K

6 Responses to “Wayfarer”

  1. 1 Penny

    😦 sad. Sorry.

    On the planning theme I have told my folks I definitely don’t want plastic windmills on my grave. In fact I really would like to be freeze dried and shattered so they can feed a tree with me. But I’m not sure if that option will be available in New Zealand anytime soon.

  2. 2 bookgrrl

    Sorry.

    Please don’t be sorry for sad days, or angry/stressed/tired days.

    I haven’t gotten that far with my own funeral planning other than I want The Beatles “In my life” played.

  3. I’m currently learning that sadness hangs around for awhile. Take care of yourself.

  4. 4 CW

    Yep, don’t be sorry.

    Hope you’re okay.

    I would love to have a sky burial but I don’t think it would be allowed here. Always wanted to be cremated until I read that the process, using the huge amounts of energy as it does, isnt as environmentally friendly as burial. So if not a sky burial an earth burial will do.

    As for songs, the only one I can think of is “so. central rain” by REM. I do wonder at the point of playing MY fave song at my funeral though, given that I won’t be around to listen to it 🙂

  5. 5 Kathryn Greenhill

    I’m not too fussed about planning my funeral. When my parents died I realized that the funeral is for the people left living, not for the person who died. Although I would have appreciated a bit more guidance left behind from them – especially on the ” viewing of the body” issue – it seemed to me that it was a very clear rite of passage where it was brought home to me that I could no longer ask them anything. Even if I did the exact opposite of what they wanted, it didn’t make any difference to them any more – nothing I did ever would again…But what had become important was getting it right for the memory-keepers and creating a harmony of memory for them to leave the event feeling that they had something to protect and honour, those memories…

  6. 6 strawberriesofintegrity

    Thanks all.
    Con- I playing So Central Rain as I type this -and really listening to the lyrics….

    Did you never call? I waited for your call
    These rivers of suggestion are driving me away
    The trees will bend, the cities wash away
    The city on the river there is a girl without a dream

    I’m sorry

    Eastern to Mountain, third party call, the lines are down
    The wise man built his words upon the rocks
    But I’m not bound to follow suit
    The trees will bend, the conversation’s dimmed
    Go build yourself another home, this choice isn’t mine

    Did you never call? I waited for your call
    These rivers of suggestion are driving me away
    The ocean sang, the conversation’s dimmed
    Go build yourself another dream, this choice isn’t mine


Leave a Reply

