Beautiful Boy

23Dec09

What a great book. What a hard book. What a gruelling book. Every parents nightmare- this book tells a father’s journey through his son’s meth addiction. The author is a journalist – David Sheff and the book is really interesting as a story about drug addiction, but so hard to read as a parent.

David Sheff has a website and nows spends time talking and writing about his experiences. His son Nic – has also written about his addiction – the book is called Tweak – I may try and read it sometime too.

This quote from Sir Richard Branson rang true for me:

“My generation experimented with drugs and, now that we are parents, we’re caught off guard. We never contemplated having to face what David Sheff has faced. He writes with candor, courage, and grace his family’s harrowing–and sadly not atypical–story. Beautiful Boy is an important book. It is moving, timely, and sobering. It’s also startlingly beautiful.”

I have a beautiful boy who has just finished Year 10 and is full of life and the promise of great and exciting and interesting things.

Jack, Alex, Sean and Louis - Year 10 formal

I guess if anything – this year has taught me about the changeability and unpredictableness of life. Life just throws things at you and you cope and get through…or not 😦

I have been blogging lots about the children lately. I am by no means through with life, but I do see the great promise and future of theirs….and that is so very exciting.

Merry Christmas!  This year has been a hard one, and I no idea what 2010 will bring. I do wish that I had blogged my thanks a little more. But to each and every one of you who has helped me along the waythis year….thanks, thankyou.

Kx

2 Responses to “Beautiful Boy”

  1. 1 Rodney

    yes – it’s hard not to respond as a parent to that book.

    Lovely photo of the boys 🙂

    Hope your 2010 brings joys.

  2. 2 Penny

    sigh – that ^^ was me…


Leave a Reply

