slow news, no news, some news

28Sep08

Big and little news this week. On a global level you’d have to say that the US (make that world) economic crisis is worrying, and in Australia for some reason the feral pig that was terrorising a woman in country NSW sure got a lot of press (as I said slow news…see ABC story and Brisbane Times “pony-sized pig”)

And what’s our news? Not much- the house should have gone through planning, but no-one is telling us that. We have started looking at rental properties (and forgot that renters got treated appallingly). I could be packing, making lists, organising, but feeling somewhat paralysed by it all. I could do a lot, but I do little. In fact today I’ve spent about four hours scanning and resizing and saving photos from 1989 and 1990!

me - Kate, 1990

me - Kate, 1990

I have found a temporary home for our piano (as I don’t think it will fit in ANY of the houses we have seen!), but we have no home.

What else? – well I’ve seen a couple of good movies in the last fortnight, Caramel and The Band’s visit. I enjoyed them both as they are stories about people. Caramel – a group of women friends in Beirut and The Band’s Visit – the story of an Egyptian policeman’s band lost in Israel. Stories about people and their (mainly) everyday lives…where they are, what they are doing, how they got there.

Had the yearly bookgroup bash at my place, my book – My mistress’s sparrow is dead. I was feeling particularly fragile the night of bookgroup – a careless comment at work had upset me. A lot of us hadn’t finished the stories -in fact I’d only read about four stories, which was pretty slack of me, but all of the house *stuff* has been really unsettling and unnerving and just tiring.

“When it comes to love, there are a million theories to explain it. But when it comes to love stories, things are simpler. A love story can never be about full possession. Love stories depend on disappointment, on unequal births and feuding families, on matrimonial boredom and at least one cold heart. Love stories, nearly without exception, give love a bad name . . . . It is perhaps only in reading a love story (or in writing one) that we can simultaneously partake of the ecstasy and agony of being in love without paying a crippling emotional price. I offer this book, then, as a cure for lovesickness and an antidote to adultery. Read these love stories in the safety of your single bed. Let everybody else suffer.”—Jeffrey Eugenides, from the introduction to My Mistress’s Sparrow Is Dead

In fact it turned out that although we hadn’t read the stories we all had plenty to say about love – morality, fidelity, marriage – a whole range of stuff. Melissa, one of the bookgroupies, emailed us all the following Shakespeare sonnet the next day:

Sonnet CXVI
by William  Shakespeare

Let me not to the marriage of true minds
Admit impediments.  Love is not love,
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove.
Oh, no! it is an ever-fixed mark
That looks on tempests.. and is never shaken.
It is the star to every wandering bark
Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.
Love is not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle’s compass come.
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
But bears it out.. even to the edge of doom.
If this be error and upon me proved,
I never writ, nor no man ever loved.

Saw One Man the other evening too. I like Steven Berkoff, but I only really liked the Edgar Allan Poe play ‘The Tell-tale heart’. I just couldn’t see him as an aging skinhead soccer hooligan type in ‘Dog’- and he had the wrong boots on which really bugged me – pull-on boots (like Blundstones- only not) and white socks and it was just so wrong, so wrong in fact that I couldn’t/didn’t enjoy the Dog that much at all. Anyway- Steven Berkoff was good, but I somehow think instead of paying money to see notable actors- maybe I should look again at local theatre next year instead.

So- I need to finish My mistress’s sparrow is dead and I’m reading the Barrytown Trilogy by Paddy Clarke and Peter Pan is the next book for bookgroup- so lots to read. Just need to focus.

The children are on two weeks school holidays now. Isabel is going to Auckland, New Zealand in a few days to spend 10 days with an old friend. She packed her suitcase two days ago- and is currently living out of it – in a huge state of excitement!

me- Kate, 1990

me- Kate, 1990

Kx

No Responses Yet to “slow news, no news, some news”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

